April #DGAF 2017

I’ve spent a lot of time reading about blogging, following the rules, trying to control my content, trying to paint a particular picture of what and who I am.

Why? I don’t know now.

The rules say 500 words. The rules say you gotta do a picture. The rules say keep it approachable. The rules say certain times of day. The rules say tagging, metadata, SEO. Keep a schedule. Don’t post too much. Don’t post too little. LOTS OF WHITE SPACE PEOPLE CAN’T PAY ATTENTION!

The rules are a nag. They are useless to me.

A few months back, I turned 36. So for a few days, I posted on Facebook & Instagram with the tag #DGAFage36.

Here’s an example from Facebook, Nov 2, 2016:

I get real big anxiety about peeing in cups, peeing outdoors, and peeing in portajohns. I have since I was little. When I was pregnant, my biggest worry on a regular basis was whether I’d be able to, and if I could, whether I’d hit or miss. #DGAFage36

At this moment, on Feb 21, 2017, I am a mess. I went from starting the birth year feeling very empowered and content and hopeful to losing my way, spectacularly.

I need to retrieve my confidence. I am afraid in ways that I wasn’t afraid 10 years ago. And not the normal, getting-to-know-my-own-mortality shit, either. Some days, I’m afraid to go out into the world.

I have a few strong, powerful, good women in my life who have helped me realize that I need to DO SOMETHING. So since I still have 2 weeks until I can get into therapy, I’m starting here. With a public declaration that I am actively working to retether. And that part of this work is not giving a f*ck.

This is accountability. This is practice.

So henceforth, this blog won’t be about anything specific or focused, not that it really ever has been. But I used to try.

Trying is good at work, when there is a thing, person, or cause to keep you moored. When trying as part of a team means something in a defined structure.

But in my life, I’m discovering that trying is inextricable from people pleasing, and it will drive me bananas–trying toward my own slave-driver, neurotic standards, or what I guess about others’ standards, or the internet’s copious, contradictory advice about itself, is a surer way to land at the bottom of whatever abyss I’m approaching.

Today, I want to write about writing about whatever the f*ck I want.

Tomorrow, it might be something else, like how much I’m enjoying Anthony Bourdain’s old CNN show Parts Unknown on Netflix. Or how much it makes me want to stab myself when people compare me to Lena Dunham. Or nothing at all.

Or maybe I will never write about either of those things. I don’t have to, you know. And I #DGAF.

Comment if you want. But no pressure. Not closing w/ a question to drive engagement. Not following dem rules. #DGAFage36

Author: April Line Writing

Writing about whatever the f*ck I want.

9 thoughts on “April #DGAF 2017”

  1. I am glad you wrote (and posted) this, April. Just this morning the memory of my old blog tapped me on the shoulder to remind me of its existence. I’ve had the same thoughts you’ve had about the rules, and I’m sick to death of content marketing “best practices,” all of which eventually shut me down. So anyway, you’re not alone. And maybe I’ll write something. Maybe I won’t. Love your guts.

  2. I try to post different stuff on different days – Media Monday is a book review paired with a song, Friday Five is five interview questions with an author. It helps me know what to blog about. And on Whatever Wednesdays, I post about whatever I want. I like this schedule because it keeps me on track, but it also gives me lots of flexibility to write about whatever I want.

    If blogging is about presenting and selling YOU, then you should do whatever you want with it. Or not. πŸ™‚

      1. I should clarify – IF I post stuff, I post certain things on certain days. πŸ™‚ Grad school is kicking my butt this semester and I don’t have time for blogging, unfortunately.

  3. Awesome article and I find it best to write whatever you feel. Make your own rules, be independent and also be a part of something greater. Keep it up and you’ll accomplish everything you imagine possible.

Leave a Reply

