I think I love Tina Fey, so what’m I so afraid of?

I stole this from a site that Google Chrome said is a known distributor of malware. I think I stole it before I got the malware. But Tina Fey is worth it.

I started watching 30 Rock.  I admit I didn’t get it at first.  But two people whose taste I trust kept telling me how farmin great it is.

So I believed them, and I started watching episodes systematically on Netflix Streaming via Xbox.  (All of this is thanks to Fella.  I didn’t used to have a TV that did anything but play DVDs.)

I viewed it as medicine at first.  Kept telling myself, “who cares if you don’t like it.  It’s good for ya’!”

By episode 6, I started to see the funny.  By episode 10, Fella was laughing, too.  And now, in the middle of the second season, I get little flutters of admiration for Tina Fey in every episode.  She is so cute!  I want to buy her book.  I want to go to lunch with her.  I want us to be BFFs, but not the creepy version like with her mentor who is played by Carrie Fisher in season 2.

I read the preview of Bossypants on Amazon, and it is delicious.  It’s just like the show.  It is smart and self-conscious and so funny.

(I still love Penelope, too.  Don’t worry.)

We watched the LudaChristmas episode (s. 2, ep. 9) last night.  And this morning, when I hugged my kid and told her I was proud of her for reading Fella the book about soccer, both he and I laughed.

Child asked why, and he said, “Mommy and I watched a funny show last night.”

“Oh.” She said.

And so Tina Fey came to breakfast at Chez 30RockHaters.  <— that was us, before.

The best thing about the show is that Fella (who is into video games and sci-fi/fantasy geekery in ways I simply don’t get) and I (who read books by authors nobody’s ever heard of and digs grammar jokes and puns, English major nerdery) both laugh.

Fella laughed when somebody said, “by the Hammer of Thor!”  I laughed when Donaghy was dating Maureen Dowd.

Then we both laugh, like when the two writers, Toofer and Frank, are imitating each other.  And at all the funny, funny burns.

So this is totally old news, and I set out for this post to be way so much more interesting.  But now I gots to go cook some rice and read some more pages.

Out!

Author: April Line Writing

Writing about whatever the f*ck I want.

3 thoughts on “I think I love Tina Fey, so what’m I so afraid of?”

Leave a Reply

