Why I Refuse to Focus: Writerly Ravings

If you’ve been reading here lately, you know I’ve fallen in love with Penelope Trunk.  You’re aware that I basically want to be her (except for the multiple children and farm/homeschooling thing).

She told me I need to focus.  She’s right, sort of.

But today I had an epiphany.  I can make not focusing focus.

1. Virtuousity is good for business.

I can write about anything.  Recently, I have written about Radon and Fish.  These were both paid jobs.  I have sold stuff, so I can write sales copy.  I am smart and I read well. I mean that I can interpret and extrapolate from what I read, and I can compress a lot of information into a little bit of copy.  I learn while I research, and if there’s something missing, the client asks me to fix it, and I usually have an answer.  If I do not have an answer, I know where to find one.

2.  Even in my lack of focus, there is focus.

Most of these posts are about writing, parenthood, books, and other media.  Soon, there will be posts about using Kickstarter or Start Some Good (.com) to fund and start a nonprofit that benefits my community and a larger community of underrepresented writers.  These things are all, in a sense, related.  They appeal to a similar sort of person: writers, parents, entrepreneurs.

3. Writing stuff that people read is focus.

I am interested in lots of things.  Telling myself that I can’t blog about something I’m interested in because it doesn’t fit into my self-mandated set of rules about what I blog about seems contrary to the idea of blogging, entrepreneurship, and having a broad skill set.  I like it when people read my posts.  I notice when they spot a theme they like, and I make other posts like it.  I also notice what gets found by pedophiles, and I try to write less of that.

4. I have done a lot of things, and I almost always do them the hard way.

Before I was 20, I’d had two dozen jobs or so. I’m not advocating for this method, but it has worked for me better than it probably should have.  I would get one, decide I didn’t like it, or get a new opportunity, or create a new scheme to be happier and better fulfilled, and switch, or work a couple of jobs at a time.  I liked having the freedom that money provided.  That money allowed me to escape my home life that was full of differing ideologies and world views that I found to be limiting.  Because of my career ADD, I can now write about food, books, publishing, teaching, cell phones and/or technology, and to a lesser extent about cars and life insurance.  I have always been a quick study, and that’s a real advantage for a writer.  I am not intimidated by new, unfamiliar information.  I thrive in it.

5. Being entertaining is focus.

Penelope said that people like to be around other people with interesting ideas.  I have lots of interesting ideas.  I have interesting ways of saying things.  Sometimes I’m funny.  I recently told facebook that I felt like I was getting boring.  My friends and acquaintances assured me I am wrong.  See?  So even if there’s something here that you find to be boring, there’s probably something else that you don’t find to be boring.  Even Penelope sometimes writes about stuff that I don’t care about.  But I bet somebody else does.

Author: April Line Writing

Writing about whatever the f*ck I want.

Leave a Reply

