Making a Poster With Pearl

This right here, this neato thing?  This is what happens when mommy procrastinates, and mommy and Pearl work together to pull off a crazy poster for the Magic Rules poster contest at her school.

The morning the poster was due, the principal made an announcement over the loudspeaker when we arrived at school to make sure we all knew that the poster contest’s deadline was being extended a bit.

On one hand I was vexed.  I was all, “WTF, Mr. Felix?! We worked so hard to get it ready this morning!” but then I thought, “We still would’ve put it off till the due date, who am I kidding?”

Pearl and I spent that morning deciding which magic rule we would illustrate, and Pearl settled on “Using Magic Words” which is apropos because we often remind Pearl to use hers.

We tossed around the idea of making the poster full of words for please, thank you, you’re welcome, and pardon me in English & other languages.  We had a minor, mainstream collection.

Then I was like, “WTF, Mommy!  This is a poster by a six-year-old.”

Then came the hand-tracing and coloring.  This poster was truly a team effort, and it made me thankful about the following things:

1. My groovy work-at-home life, though in some ways extremely stressful, gives me freedom I did not have before to help Pearl with this kind of thing.

2. She’s still willing to accept my help and my input.  I remember reaching a point early on where I did not accept help or input from my mother.

3. My kid seems to be pretty amped up about her education.  She likes going to school and participating in things like this, and she said to me, “Mommy, I think I am going to win.”

Which gave me anxiety of a whole other sort.  “Really?” I thought to myself, “but I used to hate the kids who won the poster contests their parents clearly helped them with.”  But this is 20 + years later, and kids’ parents seem to be a much more meddling bunch than when I was young.  That or they’re absent in really scary ways.  I bet there are a lot of kids whose moms and dads helped them with their posters. Or who didn’t.  And who said life was fair?

Author: April Line Writing

Writing about whatever the f*ck I want.

Leave a Reply

